Hazard Mitigation Planning

​Hazard Mitigation Planning identifies policies and actions that can be implemented over the long term to reduce the negative impacts from future disasters on lives, property, and the economy.

Under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act (Public Law 93-288), as amended, State, Tribal, and local governments are required to develop a hazard mitigation plan as a condition for receiving certain types of non-emergency disaster assistance, including Hazard Mitigation Grant Program, Pre-Disaster Mitigation Program, and Flood Mitigation Assistance Grants.

West Virginia State Hazard Mitigation Plan

The West Virginia Statewide Standard Hazard Mitigation Plan provides statewide guidance to reduce loss and prevent injury from all hazards. It reflects an amalgamation of goals, objectives, and strategies developed by the West Virginia Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (DHSEM), with input from the general citizenry and representatives from all levels of government.

 

2013 WV Statewide Hazard Mitigation Plan Update.pdf2013 WV Statewide Hazard Mitigation Plan Update.pdf

 

West Virginia 2015-2016 Hazard Mitigation Funding Notice of Intent

 

Regional Planning and Development Councils 

 

PDC ​Director ​Planner
Region I.pdfRegion I.pdf Jason Roberts
jasonroberts@regiononepdc.org
304-431-7225​
Cori Edwards
cori@regiononepdc.org
304-431-7225​
Region II.pdfRegion II.pdf Michelle Craig
mcraig@ntelos.net
304-529-3357​
Kathryn K. Elliott (Deputy Director)
kelliott@region2pdc.org
304-529-3357​
Region III.pdfRegion III.pdf  Mark Felton
markfelton@wvregion3.org
304-744-4258​
Kara Greathouse
kgreathouse@wvregion3.org
304-744-4258​
Region IV.pdfRegion IV.pdf John W. Tuggle, PE, PS
jtuggle@reg4wv.org
304-872-497​
Cassandra Hughart
chughart@reg4wv.org ​
Region V.pdfRegion V.pdf Carol Jackson
carol.jackson@movrc.org
304-422-4993​
Fred Rader
rader.fred@gmail.com
304-422-4993​
Region VI.pdfRegion VI.pdf Sheena Hunt
SheenaHunt@regionvi.com
304-366-5693
Rosemary Raschella
Raschella@regionvi.com
304-366-5693​
Region VII.pdfRegion VII.pdf Shane Whitehair
swhitehair@regionvii.com
304-472-6564​
Dionne Allen
DAllen@regionvii.com
304-472-6564​
Region VIII.pdfRegion VIII.pdf Terry Lively
304-257-1221​
Melissa Earle
mearle@regioneight.org
304-257-2448​
Region IX.pdfRegion IX.pdf Bill Clark
bclark@region9wv.com
304-263-1743​
Jennifer O'Brian
Jobrian@region9wv.com
304-263-1743​
Region X.pdfRegion X.pdf Scott Hicks
hicks@belomar.org
304-242-1800​
A.C. Wiethe (Dir. Mgt. Services)
awiethe@belomar.org
304-242-1800​
Region XI.pdfRegion XI.pdf Michael Paprocki
mpaprocki@bhjmpc.org
740-282-3685​
Barb Zimnox
bzimnox@bhjmpc.org
740-282-3685​
Jefferson County.pdfJefferson County.pdf Barb Miller
bmiller@jeffersoncountywv.org
304-728-3290​
Barb Miller
bmiller@jeffersoncountywv.org
304-728-3290​