WV.gov
Agency Header

Hazard Mitigation Planning

Hazard Mitigation Planning identifies policies and actions that can be implemented over the long term to reduce the negative impacts from future disasters on lives, property, and the economy.

Under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act (Public Law 93-288), as amended, State, Tribal, and local governments are required to develop a hazard mitigation plan as a condition for receiving certain types of non-emergency disaster assistance, including Hazard Mitigation Grant Program, Pre-Disaster Mitigation Program, and Flood Mitigation Assistance Grants.

West Virginia State Hazard Mitigation Plan

The West Virginia Statewide Standard Hazard Mitigation Plan provides statewide guidance to reduce loss and prevent injury from all hazards. It reflects an amalgamation of goals, objectives, and strategies developed by the West Virginia Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (DHSEM), with input from the general citizenry and representatives from all levels of government.

2013 West Virginia Statewide Standard Hazard Mitigation Plan Update is approved through October 17, 2016.

Regional Plan Status Map (Click for Full Resolution Image)
 

Regional Planning Development Councils and Hazard Mitigation Plans



Regional Plan
Director
Planner
 1  David Cole
davidcole@regiononepdc.org
304-431-7225
 Jason Roberts
jasonroberts@regiononepdc.org
304-431-7225
 2  Michelle Craig
mcraig@ntelos.net
304-529-3357
Mike Webb (Project Admin)
mwebb@region2pdc.org
304-529-3357
 3  Mark Felton
markfelton@wvregion3.org
304-744-4258
Kara Greathouse
kgreathouse@wvregion3.org
304-744-4258
 4  John W. Tuggle, PE, PS
jtuggle@reg4wv.org
304-872-4970
Cassandra Hughart
chughart@reg4wv.org
 5  Carol Jackson
carol.jackson@movrc.org
304-422-4993
Fred Rader
rader.fred@gmail.com
304-422-4993
 6  James Hall
Lea Wolfe (Asst. Dir.)
leawolfe@regionvi.com
304-366-5693
 7  Rosemary Wagner
rwagner@regionvii.com
304-472-6564
Bob Jacobus
bjacobus@regionvii.com
304-472-6564
 8  Terry Lively
304-257-1221
Melissa Earle
mearle@regioneight.org
304-257-2448
 9  Carol Goolsby
cgoolsby@region9wv.com
304-263-1743
 
 10  Scott Hicks
hicks@belomar.org
304-242-1800
A.C. Wiethe (Dir. Mgt. Services)
awiethe@belomar.org
304-242-1800
 11  John Brown
jbrown@bhjmpc.org
304-797-9666
 Barb Zimnox
bzimnox@bhjmpc.org
304-797-9666
 Jefferson County
 Barb Miller
bmiller@jeffersoncountywv.org
304-728-3290
 

Privacy, Security and Accessibility | WV.gov | USA.gov | © 2014 State of West Virginia