Agency Header

 Governor Tomblin Requests Federal Assistance for West Virginians in 20 Additional Counties


To assist with damage from the June 29th storm

CHARLESTON, W.Va. –Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin today requested FEMA provide Individual Assistance to residents in 20 additional counties to help West Virginians recover from the June 29th storm. Previously, Gov. Tomblin won an appeal to provide Individual Assistance in four counties and since, has been working with federal officials to include additional counties.

“Our families, seniors and individuals in these 20 counties need additional help to fully recover from the June storm,” Gov. Tomblin said. “While I’m grateful to the many individuals and organizations who have worked hard to help families and businesses throughout our state, the need stretches beyond their means. An expansion of the July federal disaster declaration to include individual assistance can mean the world of difference for many.”

Gov. Tomblin is specifically requesting individual assistance from the federal government including the Individuals and Households Program, Disaster Unemployment Assistance, Disaster Legal services, Disaster Supplemental Food Nutrition Assistance Program and Crisis Counseling, and Small Business Administration disaster loans.

Today’s request was based on the number of teleregistrations received, information developed from telephone calls made to applicants, as well as Joint Preliminary Damage assessments performed by federal and state emergency officials. The additional counties in the governor’s request include: Boone, Cabell, Clay, Greenbrier, Harrison, Jackson, Lincoln, Mason, McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Monroe, Pocahontas, Putnam, Randolph, Roane, Tyler, Webster, Wetzel and Wood.

Contact Information

Amy Shuler Goodwin

Privacy, Security and Accessibility | WV.gov | USA.gov | © 2015 State of West Virginia